Being a grown up is not all it is cracked up to be

Remember when you were a kid and you couldn’t wait to be a grown up and no one could tell you what to do? I’m still waiting for that to happen. If I am not being manipulated by my parents (though they do a lot for me and are not appreciated enough) who still want to control me or get me to do something  for them, I am letting my friends manipulate me. Even worse, as an adult you are controlled by responsibility that dictates whether or not you can do something. If you want lights you have to answer to the power company. If you want to drive, you have to answer to the insurance company and if you don’t own your car outright you have to answer to the bank or creditor that does. The list goes on and on. You still don’t get to have the bedtime you want either. When I was a kid all I wanted to do was to stay up and watch TV or play. As an adult, I just want to be allowed to sleep whenever I want. I miss being a kid and don’t want to be a grown up anymore. I wasn’t warned about this turn of events and don’t appreciate being lied to all those years. When do I get to be a kid again?

 

Leave a Reply

